From October 31, Total States will be 28 in India, Important Topic For Competitive exams
Current Affairs - PC : Current Affairs

General Science (GS) paper plays a vital role in any competitive exam whether it's SSC or Bank. If an aspirant has a grip on the general science questions he/ she can score well in the exam.

These days many historical changes have been taken place during the Modi 2.0 government. Recently article 370 has been scrapped by the central government and two new union territories are formed. These changes are important from the view of General Science questions to be asked in the upcoming competitive exams.

Do you know how many states and union territories now our country have?
Here we are going to tell you about the most important facts about our country due to recent historical changes.

What is the number of states in our country at present?
At present, there are 29 states in our country. However, there will be 28 states in India after 31 October 2019. Earlier in 2014, the number of states was 28 but due to the separation of Telangana from Andhra Pradesh, the number of states increased to 29. 

Also Read: Bharat Ratna: Check the List of Awardee So Far

These states and the names of their capitals are as follows:

Andhra Pradesh - Hyderabad
Bihar - Patna
Goa - Panaji
Gujarat - Gandhinagar
Haryana - Chandigarh
Himachal Pradesh - Shimla
Jammu and Kashmir - Srinagar
Karnataka - Bengaluru
Kerala - Thiruvananthapuram
Maharashtra - Mumbai
Madhya Pradesh - Bhopal
Odisha - Bhubaneswar
Punjab - Chandigarh
Rajasthan - Jaipur
Sikkim - Gangtok
Tamil Nadu - Chennai
Uttar Pradesh - Lucknow
West Bengal - Kolkata
Assam - Dispur
Arunachal Pradesh - Itanagar
Manipur - Imphal
Meghalaya - Shillong
Mizoram - Aizawl
Nagaland - Kohima
Tripura - Agartala
Chhattisgarh - Raipur
Jharkhand - Ranchi
Uttarakhand - Dehradun
Telangana - Hyderabad

Also Read: Vacancies to be Filled, Government Employee to get Due Perk: Modi in J-K Address

What is the number of union territories in our country at present?
At present, the number of union territories in India is 7. But after October 31, 2019, it will be increased to 9:

Name of Union Territory in India are as follows:

New Delhi
Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Dadar Nagar Haveli
Daman and Diu
Jammu and Kashmir (New)
Ladakh (New)

Also Read:  SSC MTS Paper 2019: Let’s Revise Through This Syllabus and Exam Pattern For the Rest of the Exams

What is the number of legislative assemblies in the union territory of India?

Currently, our country has legislative assemblies in two union territories (Delhi and Puducherry). After October 31, 2019, it will be increased to Three. The name of Jammu and Kashmir will also be included which means now there will be three legislative assemblies in the union territories.