MoE: Former ISRO Chief to Lead Seven-Member Panel on Exam Process Improvement, Announces Ministry of Education
Ministry of Education - PC : MRP Graphic

ISRO: Former ISRO Chief K. Radhakrishnan to lead a seven-member panel on exam process improvement. This announcement was made by the Ministry of Education. The central government has stated that the panel will submit its investigation report within two months.

Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan tweets "Transparent, tamper-free and zero-error examinations is a commitment. Setting up of the high-level committee of experts is the first of a series of step to improve efficiency of the examination process, put an end to all possible malpractices, strengthen data security protocols and overhaul and reform the NTA. Student interests and their bright future will always be our govt’s top priority."

The Ministry of Education has formed a high-level committee comprising seven experts to ensure examinations are conducted transparently, smoothly, and fairly. This decision follows the controversy surrounding alleged irregularities in the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) 2024.


The official press release from the Ministry of Education read, “The committee will make recommendations on reforming the mechanism of the examination process and improving data security protocols and the structure and functioning of NTA [National Testing Agency].”


MoE Exam Reform Panel: Expert Members

  • Chairman: Koppillil Radhakrishnan, former Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) and Chairman of BoG, IIT Kanpur, will lead the high-level committee of experts.
  • Purpose: To ensure the transparent, smooth, and fair conduct of examinations.
  • Other Members:
    • Dr. Randeep Guleria, Former Director, AIIMS Delhi.
    • Professor BJ Rao, Vice Chancellor, Central University of Hyderabad.
    • Professor Ramamurthy K, Professor Emeritus, Department of Civil Engineering, IIT Madras.
    • Pankaj Bansal, Co-Founder, People Strong and Board Member, Karmayogi Bharat.
    • Professor Aditya Mittal, Dean Student Affairs, IIT Delhi.
    • Govind Jaiswal, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Education, Government of India.


Panel Chairman: K. Radhakrishnan

  • Former Position: Former Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO).
  • Birthdate and Place: Born on August 29, 1949, in Irinjalakuda, Kerala.
  • Notable Responsibilities: Assumed roles as Chairman of Space Commission, Secretary of the Department of Space, Government of India, and Chairman of ISRO Council on November 1, 2009.

MoE Exam Reform Panel: Committee role  

  • Reform in Mechanism of Examination Process:
    • Analyse the end-to-end examination process and suggest measures to improve system efficiency and prevent breaches.
    • Conduct a thorough review of the Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs)/Protocols of the National Testing Agency (NTA).
  • Improvement in Data Security Protocols:
    • Evaluate existing data security processes and protocols of NTA and recommend measures for improvement.
    • Examine existing security protocols related to paper-setting and other processes for different examinations and suggest enhancements to strengthen the system.
  • Structure and Functioning of National Testing Agency:
    • Make recommendations on the organizational structure and functioning of the NTA.
    • Clearly define the roles and responsibilities of functionaries at every level.
    • Assess the current Grievance Redressal Mechanism of the NTA, identify areas for improvement, and recommend measures to enhance its efficiency.

The committee is required to submit its report to the ministry within two months. Additionally, the committee can co-opt any Subject Matter Expert to assist them, as stated by the ministry in the press release.