All You Need to Know About the Inspirational Journey of the ISRO Chief K Sivan
K Sivan - PC : Self
The second moon mission, Chandrayaan 2 of Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO)  is not over yet.

During a press conference, The ISRO chief K Sivan announced that for the next 14 days their team will put all efforts to search for the Vikram lander. 
Dr Kailasavadivoo Sivan or K Sivan is an Indian space scientist and the chairperson of the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO).

Through this article, you will get to know about the inspirational journey of the ISRO Chief K Sivan.

K Sivan was born on April 14, 1957, in Mela Sarakkalvilai, Kanyakumari District, Tamil Nadu. He is the former Director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Center and the Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre.

Sivan is known for his significant contribution to the development of cryogenic engines, for India's space programme. Taking over the reins from Alur Seelin Kiran Kumar or A.S. Kiran Kumar, Sivan becomes the ninth head of the 50-year-old organisation. 

About K Sivan Academics

K Sivan is the son of a farmer and studied in a Tamil medium Government school. Without any guidance from family or attending tutions. Yet He is the first graduate from his family.

- Sivan graduated with a bachelor's degree in engineering from Madras Institute of Technology in 1980. 
- He got a master's degree in aerospace engineering from Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore in 1982.
- He earned a doctoral degree in aerospace engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay in 2006.
- He is a Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering, the Aeronautical Society of India and the Systems Society of India.

About K Sivan Career

- Sivan worked on the design and development of launch vehicles for the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). 
- He joined ISRO in 1982 to participate in the Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) Project.
- He was appointed as the director of ISRO's Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre on July 02, 2014.
- He became the director of VSSC on June 01, 2015.
- K Sivan was appointed the chief of ISRO in January 2018. 

Under his chairmanship, ISRO launched Chandrayaan 2, India’s second lunar exploration mission after Chandrayaan-1.

ISRO Chief has also won many awards:

- Shri Hari Om Ashram Prerit Dr Vikram Sarabhai Research award (1999)
- ISRO merit award (2007)
- Dr Biren Roy Space Science award (2011)
- Distinguished Alumnus Award (2013) from Madras Institute of Technology Alumni Association, Chennai
- Distinguished Alumnus Award (2018) from Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
- Conferred as Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from Sathyabama University, Chennai on April 2014.
- Tamil Nadu government’s Dr A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Award. (2019)