Kerala won 61st National School Athletics championship
For this the 19 consecutive year, the Kerala has won the National School Athletics championship. Kerala has been the winner this time too at the 61st annual meet.

The event started on January 29 and concluded on 2nd February. The National School Athletics championship was held at Olympian Rahman Stadium in Kozhikode, Kerala.

Kerala won 39 gold, 28 silver and 15 bronze at the event. Tamil Nadu ranked at the second position with 116 points winning 11 gold, 8 silver and 13 bronze medals. Maharashtra with 101 points kept the third position.

Ten of the Kerala athletes won meet records. Lizabeth Caroline Joseph won triple gold, while Anumol Thampi, Bibin George, Abitha Mary Manuel, Rugma Udayan and K. Sneha won double gold medals in the meet.

Kerala wasn't able to break it's 46-gold record of 2009, in the 61st National School Athletics championship this time.