20 Universities Declared 'Fake' by UGC, Degrees Offered Not Valid
UGC Chairman M. Jagadesh Kumar - PC : MRP Graphics
UGC Fake Universities Case: The University Grants Commission (UGC) declared 20 universities "fake" and not empowered to confer any degrees, with Delhi having eight such institutions, the highest number.

"It has come to the notice of the UGC that a number of institutions are offering degrees contrary to the provisions of the UGC Act. Degrees awarded by such universities shall neither be recognised nor valid for higher education or employment purposes. These universities are not empowered to confer any degree," said UGC secretary Manish Joshi.

Delhi Has Eight "Fake" Universities:

In Delhi, the universities identified as "fake" are the All India Institute of Public and Physical Health Sciences; Commercial University Ltd., Daryaganj; United Nations University; Vocational University; ADR-Centric Juridical University; Indian Institution of Science and Engineering; Viswakarma Open University for Self-Employment; and Adhyatmik Vishwavidyalaya (Spiritual University), according to the UGC.

Uttar Pradesh Has Four "Fake" Universities:

Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith; National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy; Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University (Open university); and Bhartiya Shiksha Parishad.

Karnataka, Maharashtra, Puducherry, Andhra Pradesh, West Bengal and Kerala also have "fake" universities, the UGC said.